An editorial comparison
AlorAir HDi65S vs Santa Fe Ultra70: built-in pump or ducted gravity drain?
A pump-equipped Sentinel and a low-profile Ultra model. Compare the exact 55/70-pint warm ratings, drain route and installation documentation.
Checked Oct 12, 2026 · Exact base models identified below
The useful difference
Examine HDi65S when a built-in pump is central to the location, after confirming the exact pump limit. Examine Ultra70 when its gravity drain and documented duct layout work for the space. The larger number in the HDi65S name is not a verified 65-pint warm-condition rating.
Differences and data gaps first, then remaining specifications. Missing data is not a performance disadvantage. Swipe or scroll sideways to see more models.
| What to check | AlorAir Sentinel HDi65S →Checked 2026-10-12Version detailsCurrent product-page model; R32 specification PDF filename revision 20251219; exact production SKU unconfirmed | Santa Fe Ultra70 →Checked 2026-10-12Version detailsPart 4044100; current product page |
|---|---|---|
| Differences & data gaps | ||
| Water removal · 80°F / 60% RHManufacturer ratings at these stated conditions. Test methods may still differ; this is not an independent performance test. | 55 pints/day | 70 pints/day |
| Water removal · 73°F / 60% RHManufacturer ratings at these stated conditions. Test methods may still differ; this is not an independent performance test. | Not verified | 52.45 pints/day |
| Water removal · 90°F / 90% RHManufacturer ratings at these stated conditions. Test methods may still differ; this is not an independent performance test. | 120 pints/day | Not verified |
| Drain arrangement | Built-in pumpNotes & sourcesPump and/or gravity mode as stated in the named product specification; mode and hose setup must be checked in the exact manual. View model sources → | Gravity drainNotes & sourcesManufacturer manual describes gravity drainage with a required trap; an external pump is optional for a raised destination. Check the full instructions. View model sources → |
| Cabinet heightCabinet dimensions are not installation clearance. Check feet, fittings, airflow and service access. | 13.3 in.Notes & sourcesCabinet dimensions are from the R32 drawing. Leave extra space for airflow, fittings and service access. View model sources → | 12 in.Notes & sourcesView model sources → |
| Cabinet width | 12.2 in.Notes & sourcesCabinet dimensions are from the R32 drawing. Leave extra space for airflow, fittings and service access. View model sources → | 12 in.Notes & sourcesView model sources → |
| Cabinet depth | 19.2 in.Notes & sourcesCabinet dimensions are from the R32 drawing. Leave extra space for airflow, fittings and service access. View model sources → | 22 in.Notes & sources22-inch cabinet body without duct collars. With the documented collars, depth is 28 inches; leave additional airflow and service clearance. View model sources → |
| Depth including duct collarsIncludes the documented duct collars, but not airflow or service clearance. Missing does not mean no collars. | Not verified | 28 in.Notes & sourcesIncludes the documented duct collars, but not airflow or service clearance. View model sources → |
| Minimum operating temperatureA supported operating minimum does not guarantee rated water removal in a cold space. | 33.8°F | 49°FNotes & sourcesView model sources → |
| Sound level · dBAtemperature not stated · humidity not stated · configuration not stated · distance not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | < 52 dBANotes & sourcesProduct-page specification table: Noise Level · Manufacturer sound claim; distance, acoustic test conditions and installation mode are not supplied. PDF p1, sound-pressure specification row · Manufacturer sound-pressure claim with its printed bound retained. Measurement distance, room conditions and ducted/unducted mode are not specified. View model sources → | Not verified |
| Running current · Atemperature not stated · humidity not stated · configuration not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | 4.1 ANotes & sourcesPDF p1, current/power specification row · Manufacturer-listed operating current at 115 V / 60 Hz. Load conditions and compressor start-up current are not stated; this is not a wattage measurement. View model sources → | Not verified |
| Input power · W73°F · 60% RH · configuration not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | Not verified | 492 WNotes & sourcesPDF p.1 Electrical, Power · Manufacturer stated input watts at the listed air conditions; compressor duty cycle and annual consumption are not specified. View model sources → |
| Running current · A73°F · 60% RH · configuration not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | Not verified | 4.1 ANotes & sourcesPDF p.1 Electrical, Current Draw · Manufacturer stated current at the listed air conditions; this is not starting current and is not converted into watts. View model sources → |
| Built-in pump · published liftPublished head limit, not a guarantee for a long hose with bends. Conflicting claims are not a safe installation limit. | 19.6 ft · needs confirmationNotes & sourcesPDF p13 and p15, pump-discharge diagrams · The linked manual labels a vertical rise 19.6 ft, but does not establish the exact current R32 production revision. View model sources → | Not verified |
| Optional external pump · published lift | Not verified | 12 ftNotes & sourcesOptional external 4022220 pump is rated up to 12 ft vertical lift; Ultra 70 base unit drains by gravity. View model sources → |
| Pump hose length | 19.6 ftNotes & sourcesManufacturer lists a 19.6-foot pump/discharge line. Hose length and vertical pumping lift are separate specifications. View model sources → | Not verifiedNotes & sourcesNo included pump discharge-hose length has been verified; gravity-drain tubing is a separate measurement. |
| Duct collar diameter | Not verifiedNotes & sourcesNo single current-generation duct connection diameter confirmed; inlet and supply ports may differ. | 8 in.Notes & sources8 in main inlet/outlet collars. Longer duct runs can require a larger duct than the connector. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Return and supply openings · airflowRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | Not verified | 12 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.3 Safety Instructions · Safety text requires 12 in, whereas the location diagram shows 6 in. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Return side in location diagram · airflowRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | Not verified | 6 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.5 Location diagram · Diagram shows 6 in airflow clearance; conflicts with 12 in safety text. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Either filter extraction side · filter removalRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | Not verified | 13 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.5 Location diagram · Keep 13 in free at the filter-removal side. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Drain outlet above floor drain · drainRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | Not verified | 6.75 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.7 Drain Installation · Mount so the drain outlet is at least 6.75 in above the floor drain; required trap and supports increase installation height. View model sources → |
| Manufacturer-listed applicationsListed applications are not a sizing recommendation. | Basement, Crawl spaceNotes & sourcesView model sources → | Basement, Crawl space, Whole homeNotes & sourcesView model sources → |
| Other specifications · same recorded value or not verified for all | ||
| Duct connection | Supported; check duct kitNotes & sourcesThe linked exact-model manufacturer specification explicitly describes optional duct mounting and a ducted installation. Confirm the matching collar kit and installed airflow requirements. View model sources → | Supported; check duct kitNotes & sourcesDuct configuration and required accessories must follow the installation manual. View model sources → |
Read the capacity table instead of the model name
The checked HDi65S specification gives 55 pints/day at 80°F/60% RH, while Ultra70 gives 70 at those conditions. HDi65S’s 120-pint claim belongs to a hotter, wetter regime shown separately. Neither that maximum nor the 65 in the product name should replace the condition-labelled rating. The table exposes this distinction before any fit or drain decision.
Different drain arrangements change the installation
HDi65S includes a pump. Ultra70 drains by gravity and can use a separate compatible pump. A linked HDi65S manual shows a 19.6-foot rise, but does not establish the exact current R32 production revision; the single normalized lift remains unknown. The external Santa Fe pump limit is an accessory specification, not an Ultra70 built-in capability. Confirm both the route and overflow response.
Cabinet, collars and drain elevation must all fit
HDi65S records a 13.3-inch-high body, 12.2-inch width and 19.2-inch depth. Ultra70 records 12 by 12 by 22, extending to 28 inches with collars. That makes Ultra70’s body lower but does not settle the installed height: its current instructions specify drain elevation and 13 inches of filter-extraction space. Include those requirements in the location sketch.
Duct support needs the exact accessories and airflow plan
Both profiles have source-supported duct capability, but that does not make every inlet/outlet or accessory interchangeable. The older Sentinel manual discusses a supply grille without establishing current collar compatibility. Ultra70’s current installation manual is the starting point for its return, supply and drain arrangement; it also contains differing numerical airflow instructions that need clarification in a tight location. Avoid choosing ducts from the brand or family name alone.
Current, watts and sound cannot declare a winner
The visible HDi65S specification gives 4.1 A; its sound claim is less than 52 dBA with no measuring distance. Ultra70 provides direct operating watts at stated conditions, but no matching sound test was verified. Amps are not converted to watts, and a sound upper bound is not an exact measurement. The available documents cannot establish comparative yearly cost or room-above quietness.
Follow the evidence
Sources & further reading
Open the original material for the full context. A product specification is not an independent test.
- manufacturer manualAlorAir Sentinel HDi65S linked installation and operation manual
AlorAir · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: Manufacturer-linked manualExact model manual currently linked by the manufacturer; match the delivered model plate and document revision before installation.
- manufacturer productAlorAir Sentinel HDi65S manufacturer product page
AlorAir · Checked Oct 12, 2026
- manufacturer specAlorAir Sentinel HDi65S current linked specification sheet
AlorAir · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: File identifier 20251219 - manufacturer productSanta Fe Optional Condensate Pump Kit 4022220
Santa Fe · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: Manufacturer accessory listing checked 2026-10-12Optional external pump, not part of the base dehumidifier. Manufacturer states 12 feet vertical lift and 20 feet total routing; it does not state an included hose length. Compatibility is listed for Compact 70, Oasis 105, Classic, Ultra 70 and UltraMD33; new V-series compatibility is not assumed from older Ultra names.
Show 3 more sources
- manufacturer specSanta Fe Ultra70 4044100 Specification Sheet TS-2111 Rev B
Santa Fe / AprilAire official DAM · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: TS-2111 Rev B, 01/26The drawing separates a 22-inch body from a 28-inch depth with duct collars; service clearance is additional.
- manufacturer manualSanta Fe Ultra70 4044100 Installation Instructions
Santa Fe · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: TS-2082 Rev C / 04.26Exact 4044100 instruction manual. Safety text asks for 12 inches at return/supply, while the location diagram shows 6 inches. Filter removal requires 13 inches. Do not silently choose the smaller airflow clearance.
- manufacturer specSanta Fe Ultra70 4044100 Specification
Santa Fe · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: TS-2111 Rev B / 01.26Exact 4044100 R454B specification. Input power and current are both rated at 73°F/60% RH. No numeric sound level is published here.

