An editorial comparison
AprilAire E080 vs Santa Fe Ultra70: low cabinet or more rated capacity?
Compare the 15-inch E080 cabinet with Ultra70’s 12-inch body, plus drain elevation, filter access and condition-labelled extraction.
Checked Oct 12, 2026 · Exact base models identified below
The useful difference
Ultra70 is the first candidate to examine when a 15-inch E080 body is too tall. E080 has the larger published warm-condition capacity. Choose only after checking the full installed height and service access: a 12-inch body can still need elevation, fittings and room to remove its filter.
Differences and data gaps first, then remaining specifications. Missing data is not a performance disadvantage. Swipe or scroll sideways to see more models.
| What to check | AprilAire E080 →Checked 2026-10-12Version detailsBase E080; current manufacturer page | Santa Fe Ultra70 →Checked 2026-10-12Version detailsPart 4044100; current product page |
|---|---|---|
| Differences & data gaps | ||
| Water removal · 80°F / 60% RHManufacturer ratings at these stated conditions. Test methods may still differ; this is not an independent performance test. | 80 pints/day | 70 pints/day |
| Water removal · 73°F / 60% RHManufacturer ratings at these stated conditions. Test methods may still differ; this is not an independent performance test. | 65 pints/day | 52.45 pints/day |
| Cabinet heightCabinet dimensions are not installation clearance. Check feet, fittings, airflow and service access. | 15 in.Notes & sourcesRounded cabinet dimensions exclude feet, filter doors and duct collars. Check the drawing and installed envelope. View model sources → | 12 in.Notes & sourcesView model sources → |
| Cabinet width | 14 in.Notes & sourcesRounded cabinet dimensions exclude feet, filter doors and duct collars. Check the drawing and installed envelope. View model sources → | 12 in.Notes & sourcesView model sources → |
| Cabinet depth | 26 in.Notes & sourcesRounded cabinet dimensions exclude feet, filter doors and duct collars. Check the drawing and installed envelope. View model sources → | 22 in.Notes & sources22-inch cabinet body without duct collars. With the documented collars, depth is 28 inches; leave additional airflow and service clearance. View model sources → |
| Depth including duct collarsIncludes the documented duct collars, but not airflow or service clearance. Missing does not mean no collars. | Not verified | 28 in.Notes & sourcesIncludes the documented duct collars, but not airflow or service clearance. View model sources → |
| Minimum operating temperatureA supported operating minimum does not guarantee rated water removal in a cold space. | Not verified | 49°FNotes & sourcesView model sources → |
| Running current · A80°F · 60% RH · configuration not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | 4.8 ANotes & sourcesPDF p.1 Specifications, Current Draw and rating footnote · Manufacturer rated current at 80°F/60% RH inlet air and 0.0 external static pressure. This is current, not input watts or a starting-surge value. View model sources → | Not verified |
| Sound level · dBAtemperature not stated · humidity not stated · ducted · distance not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | 45 dBANotes & sourcesPDF p.1 Specifications, Noise row · Manufacturer sound rating for ducted installation. Distance, temperature, humidity and acoustic test method are not given; it is not an independent comparison. View model sources → | Not verified |
| Standby power · Wtemperature not stated · humidity not stated · standby. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | < 3 WNotes & sourcesPDF p.4 Operating the Dehumidifier / idle power · Idle only: manufacturer says less than 3 W when both fan and compressor are stopped. This is not operating input power. View model sources → | Not verified |
| Input power · W73°F · 60% RH · configuration not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | Not verified | 492 WNotes & sourcesPDF p.1 Electrical, Power · Manufacturer stated input watts at the listed air conditions; compressor duty cycle and annual consumption are not specified. View model sources → |
| Running current · A73°F · 60% RH · configuration not stated. Manufacturer claims; missing conditions do not imply identical tests. | Not verified | 4.1 ANotes & sourcesPDF p.1 Electrical, Current Draw · Manufacturer stated current at the listed air conditions; this is not starting current and is not converted into watts. View model sources → |
| Optional external pump · published lift | 22 ftNotes & sourcesUp to 22 feet lift for separately purchased AprilAire 4856 condensate pump. The base dehumidifier drains by gravity and does not contain this pump. View model sources → | 12 ftNotes & sourcesOptional external 4022220 pump is rated up to 12 ft vertical lift; Ultra 70 base unit drains by gravity. View model sources → |
| Duct collar diameter | 10 in.Notes & sources10-inch inlet and outlet connections. Duct length and static pressure limits still need the exact installation manual. View model sources → | 8 in.Notes & sources8 in main inlet/outlet collars. Longer duct runs can require a larger duct than the connector. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Either filter extraction side · filter removalRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | 15 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.8 Figure 12 Filter Access Clearance · The filter can be removed from either side; the chosen removal side needs at least 15 inches. Do not count this as cabinet width. View model sources → | 13 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.5 Location diagram · Keep 13 in free at the filter-removal side. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Return and supply openings · airflowRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | Not verified | 12 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.3 Safety Instructions · Safety text requires 12 in, whereas the location diagram shows 6 in. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Return side in location diagram · airflowRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | Not verified | 6 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.5 Location diagram · Diagram shows 6 in airflow clearance; conflicts with 12 in safety text. View model sources → |
| Clearance · Drain outlet above floor drain · drainRequirement from the referenced manual and configuration. Do not add cabinet dimensions alone to infer a guaranteed fit. | Not verified | 6.75 in.Notes & sourcesPDF p.7 Drain Installation · Mount so the drain outlet is at least 6.75 in above the floor drain; required trap and supports increase installation height. View model sources → |
| Other specifications · same recorded value or not verified for all | ||
| Drain arrangement | Gravity drainNotes & sourcesView model sources → | Gravity drainNotes & sourcesManufacturer manual describes gravity drainage with a required trap; an external pump is optional for a raised destination. Check the full instructions. View model sources → |
| Pump hose length | Not verifiedNotes & sourcesNo included pump discharge-hose length has been verified; gravity-drain tubing is a separate measurement. | Not verifiedNotes & sourcesNo included pump discharge-hose length has been verified; gravity-drain tubing is a separate measurement. |
| Duct connection | Supported; check duct kitNotes & sourcesDuct configuration and required accessories must follow the installation manual. View model sources → | Supported; check duct kitNotes & sourcesDuct configuration and required accessories must follow the installation manual. View model sources → |
| Manufacturer-listed applicationsListed applications are not a sizing recommendation. | Basement, Crawl space, Whole homeNotes & sourcesView model sources → | Basement, Crawl space, Whole homeNotes & sourcesView model sources → |
Which capacity difference is actually comparable?
E080 lists 80 pints/day and Ultra70 lists 70 at 80°F/60% RH. At 73°F/60% RH, their recorded ratings are 65 and 52.45 respectively. These are source ratings at matching stated air conditions, not a shared independent test. They support a capacity discussion, but they do not turn floor area into a guaranteed match or prove that the higher-rated model will fix moisture entry.
A lower body needs a complete installation sketch
E080 records a 15-inch-high, 14-inch-wide, 26-inch-deep cabinet; its manual excludes feet and duct collars from dimensions. Ultra70’s body is 12 inches high and wide and 22 deep, while depth with collars is 28. Do not compare the 28-inch overall dimension with E080’s body depth as if they describe the same boundary. Sketch the collars, bends, support and access route around each unit.
Filter access can decide the location
E080 calls for 15 inches at either filter-extraction side. Ultra70 calls for 13 inches there. Its manual also gives 12 inches in safety text and 6 in the location diagram for airflow; that discrepancy remains visible. A cabinet that fits between joists may still leave no way to change the filter or maintain the drain. Get the exact manual’s requirement clarified before committing to a narrow location.
Drain height and the pump are different constraints
Both are gravity-drain base models. Ultra70’s instructions describe 6.75 inches of drain elevation above a floor drain. A separately purchased pump changes the discharge route, but does not remove the need to follow the inlet drain and trap arrangement. The optional external pump limits in the table are accessory claims. Neither unit should be bought as a built-in-pump model.
Do not choose from a sound or watts shortcut
E080 publishes a ducted 45 dBA claim; its measuring distance is not given. The current Ultra70 documents checked here do not establish a comparable numeric sound reading. E080 specifies current in amps, while Ultra70 directly specifies operating watts at stated conditions. Neither gap proves a quieter or cheaper-to-run product. The owner accounts below are commissioning examples, not measurements of current-generation performance.
Reviews & installation evidence
Original summaries of external material. We did not perform these tests. The version and evidence limits below matter as much as the result.
Certification report · spec analysis
E080 certification record: what the 65-pint figure describes
Family context: Certification ID 4510066, E080 / additional E080H; PDF captured September 26, 2026
The record lists E080 as a whole-home dehumidifier with 65 pints/day certified capacity, an integrated energy factor of 2.35 L/kWh and standardized annual consumption of 632 kWh. This identifies a certification entry, not a new home test. The certified capacity must not be compared directly with a differently conditioned manufacturer rating.
- Setting / method
- One-page official certification export. Exact temperature and humidity are not printed in this export; no regime is inferred for our filter data.
- What this does not prove
- Certification is not an owner review, operating watt measurement or bill forecast. The entry alone does not identify the refrigerant of a shipped unit.
Owner report · installation
E080 with Model 76: a control setup lesson from one installation
Family context: Owner-named E080 with Model 76; exact hardware and control firmware unreported
The owner placed an E080 in an unfinished room with supply and return paths to an adjacent finished room and a Model 76 there to sense humidity. They initially could not enter external-control setup and later report resolving it with the unit switched off. The practical lesson is to verify commissioning and sensor location before treating a control problem as a faulty dehumidifier.
- Setting / method
- Single installation report with a described resolution; no performance measurements. Follow the matching manufacturer control instructions.
- What this does not prove
- Not electrical or wiring instructions and not proof of a defect. A kit including an external pump does not mean the base E080 has a built-in pump.
Owner report · owner experience
E080 upstairs humidity: when a long runtime needs investigation
Family context: Owner-named E080; refrigerant, serial number and installation revision unreported
The owner describes an attic E080 serving an upstairs zone that still reaches about 60% RH despite long daily runtime, while a basement E100 keeps lower floors around 50% or below. The account is useful as a commissioning question: check actual inlet/outlet conditions, controls, air distribution and moisture entry before assuming that replacing the model will solve the problem.
- Setting / method
- One multi-zone home; owner-reported setpoints and room humidity. No verified airflow, condensate measurement or final diagnosis.
- What this does not prove
- Unverified personal account, not an established product defect or failure rate. Floor area and runtime alone cannot distinguish undersizing, moisture load and installation problems.
Follow the evidence
Sources & further reading
Open the original material for the full context. A product specification is not an independent test.
- manufacturer manualAprilAire E080 & E100 Installation & Owner Manual 02.24
AprilAire; manufacturer PDF hosted by Sylvane · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: 10020792B, 02.24 - manufacturer specAprilAire E080 Specification Form 961 03.24
AprilAire; manufacturer PDF hosted by Sylvane · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: Form 961, 320713, 03.24 - official guidanceENERGY STAR certified dehumidifier record: AprilAire E080, ID4510066
EPA ENERGY STAR · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: Certification ID 4510066, E080 / additional E080H; PDF captured September 26, 2026External evidence; the summary identifies its scope and limits. Follow the original for the full account.
- owner reviewPSA for those installing an Aprilaire dehumidifer
Reddit r/hvacadvice · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: Owner-named E080 with Model 76; exact hardware and control firmware unreportedExternal evidence; the summary identifies its scope and limits. Follow the original for the full account.
Show 5 more sources
- owner reviewAprilaire E080 & High Humidity
Reddit r/hvacadvice · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: Owner-named E080; refrigerant, serial number and installation revision unreportedExternal evidence; the summary identifies its scope and limits. Follow the original for the full account.
- manufacturer productSanta Fe Optional Condensate Pump Kit 4022220
Santa Fe · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: Manufacturer accessory listing checked 2026-10-12Optional external pump, not part of the base dehumidifier. Manufacturer states 12 feet vertical lift and 20 feet total routing; it does not state an included hose length. Compatibility is listed for Compact 70, Oasis 105, Classic, Ultra 70 and UltraMD33; new V-series compatibility is not assumed from older Ultra names.
- manufacturer specSanta Fe Ultra70 4044100 Specification Sheet TS-2111 Rev B
Santa Fe / AprilAire official DAM · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: TS-2111 Rev B, 01/26The drawing separates a 22-inch body from a 28-inch depth with duct collars; service clearance is additional.
- manufacturer manualSanta Fe Ultra70 4044100 Installation Instructions
Santa Fe · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: TS-2082 Rev C / 04.26Exact 4044100 instruction manual. Safety text asks for 12 inches at return/supply, while the location diagram shows 6 inches. Filter removal requires 13 inches. Do not silently choose the smaller airflow clearance.
- manufacturer specSanta Fe Ultra70 4044100 Specification
Santa Fe · Checked Oct 12, 2026
Version: TS-2111 Rev B / 01.26Exact 4044100 R454B specification. Input power and current are both rated at 73°F/60% RH. No numeric sound level is published here.

